The Difference Between Parents

Somehow, on the nights I’m out, Daddy always manages to help our daughter with her reading homework, but our son gets away without doing all his homework.

On the nights I’m in, I usually take charge, and it’s the other way around.

I’ve finally figured it out. Daughter loves her homework, so all it takes is a bit of organizing. And it’s not something that gets marked the next day. Son hates his homework, and there’s more to it, including some things he can decide which day to do them.

The psycho-analytical term for it is “Gatekeeper”. I’m thinking it should be “Ogre”.

Tonight, I’m going to point Daddy to the big weekly chart which son should check when deciding if he’s done enough, and cuddle with my reading daughter.

Leave a Reply

