Quotations

Aha! Something useful to do with my blog: Quotations, and the thoughts they trigger.

If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put foundations under them.
– Henry David Thoreau.

I love this one.

My son wants to design working Transformers, and do things in space. I use those goals to keep him motivated at school. If the banker can’t read what you wrote on the loan application, he’ll deny the loan. If you don’t learn math, they won’t accept you into an engineering program, or any of the other programs that would help you learn what you need for those jobs. He’ll also need to communicate with the people who will build the parts. All those subjects become the foundations for his dream job.

He’s beginning to realize those jobs probably won’t happen. I keep reaffirming that those subjects he’s already working on will become useful foundations for other jobs he’ll enjoy, and not having them will drastically limit his options. It’s sad, though, watching him change those castles to something the available foundation-construction methods can actually reach. It’s a normal part of growing up, but it’s sad.

Covey talks about goals and roles. One of my lifetime goals is to raise my kids to become productive, worthwhile members of society. One of the pillars supporting that goal is my own castle — our home. I want it to be a calm, supportive, comfortable environment. To do that, I keep it clean and tidy, and model being a good, effective, efficient worker, even if all I’m doing at the moment is housework.

Leave a Reply

