This Week’s Virtue: Silence

Back in September I started a new routine. I would choose a virtue each week, and work on it. Then I got derailed. Time to restart.

This week, I will work on Silence.

Ben Franklin says this about silence:

Speak not but what may benefit others or yourself; avoid trifling conversation.

I wonder what he’d say about Twitter?

Places I know I need to work on:

  • Talking about my past life as an engineer, especially during my new "job". It’s really not relevant.
  • Repeating myself, like Jacob TwoTwo (who repeated everything twice because otherwise no one heard him). I need to learn to see the subtler "I heard you" signals instead, and also recognize when they’re not interested.
  • Keep Twitter to a reasonable amount. Someone said 5/day. We’ll see.
  • Commenting on blogs, especially posts where I feel I need to express it carefully. Takes a lot of time, and often need not be said (or should be said by someone else).

As always, I welcome your thoughts and related experiences.

Leave a Reply

