Booking Through Thursday — Collectibles

The question this week is:

* Hardcover? Or paperback?
* Illustrations? Or just text?
* First editions? Or you don’t care?
* Signed by the author? Or not?

I don’t collect intentionally, but what I’m very attached to what I actually collect.

For pure reading books, paperback. They’re much cheaper and take up less space. We use the library for most of our reading, but will buy authors and series that we like. We don’t care the edition.

I do have some books signed by authors, but they are authors I know personally, or when we have gone to a signing. Mom used to be a freelance typist, and many of the authors became family friends. Storytellers sometimes write as well. We don’t buy books just because they are signed.

I also have books signed by someone special who gave them too us. I have several that were given to my grandmother (pre-paperback), and the giver wrote a note in them. Mom often writes a quick note in books when she gives them, especially if the book has meaning, like a favourite story of hers, rather than “I was walking by Chapters before Christmas.”

Leave a Reply

