Booking Through Thursday: Numbers Game

Prompt:

Some people read one book at a time. Some people have a number of them on the go at any given time, perhaps a reading in bed book, a breakfast table book, a bathroom book, and so on, which leads me to…

1. Are you currently reading more than one book?
2. If so, how many books are you currently reading?
3. Is this normal for you?
4. Where do you keep your current reads?

I’m normally a monogamous reader, but that’s changed in the last month due to technology. Now I have several on the go, for different situations. I’m still monogamous for novels and even anthologies. I’m less monogamous for lecture series and articles or podcasts — things I never used to be interested in.

I got an MP3 player for Christmas, and discovered online lectures and podcasts. I have a couple on the go. It’s difficult to rewind in the car, so I don’t listen to large files or lectures, especially if I’m tired. Also, some work better for walking beside a noisy road then others.

“One novel at a time” applies regardless of format, so if I’m reading one I’ll listen to something else, and if I’m listening to one, I’ll listen and knit rather than read a book.

Also, lecture series and podcasts aren’t intended for single-sitting reading. I enjoy them more with a few days between each file.

I used to have a book on my PDA, for shopping runs late and I treat myself to lunch, but I stopped using the PDA last year (Winding Down the Palm) and this is the thing I miss most. It’s not something I plan, so I don’t keep a book in my purse. Last week I left a book of short stories in the car, for this situation.

I’m reading an online book on the computer. Too big to print. And I don’t have an offline reader. So, there’s one for when I can sit in at the computer and read. The hassle of getting husband to prepare it on his computer so I can read it on the Palm isn’t worth it.

I’m terrible about finishing books with the kids. We often start reading one, then the kids will want a different one, so we start way more than we finish. But at least we’re reading books they enjoy, rather than forcing them to finish a book just because Mommy enjoyed it when she was small. They’re better about finishing books they read for themselves.

3 Responses

  1. I read 3 at a time. mine

  2. I’m a shameless hussy when it comes to my books. I’m reading ten books at once, hopping from plotline to plotline with nary a commitment, except for the fact that I promise to finish them one of these days. 🙂

  3. I haven’t gotten into the online reading and downloading of books. I still like going to the library and picking up a pile each week. I do want to try audio books though.

Leave a Reply

