Weekly Virtue: Sincerity Recap; Justice Prologue

This was supposed to go up the 10th. It’s now the 13th. Oops.

The Past

The virtue last week was Sincerity.

Use no hurtful deceit; think innocently and justly, and, if you speak, speak accordingly.

I was most definitely not mindful of this during the week. If you’d asked me what the virtue of the week was, I would have looked at you blankly.

In hindsight, I think I did okay. Not ideal, but reasonable. I’ve always preferred to tell the truth. Also, there isn’t usually much temptation to be insincere to others.

To myself, though, and my family? Tons of “I’ll get to it later,” said as a way to get them off my back. Not good.

How was your week being Sincere?

The Future

Next week, ending on Friday, is:

Justice. Wrong none by doing injuries, or omitting the benefits that are your duty.

This is not the normal definition of being fair when judging.

I expect I’ll do average on this one. I need to watch my temper with the kids. I tend to snap.

“Omitting the benefits that are your duty.” I’ll take that to mean I should do my duties to others. This week, that’s the kids and family. It looks like a light week on the schedule, so no excuses to cut back on the goal of pulling ahead on the clutter.

I have a duty to the group I’m tandem-telling with on Friday, as a demonstration at a workshop; I need to know my part, and look after myself well so I can perform well.

I owe several readers another chapter in my novel, and good comments on their own. Mailing deadline is end of the month. I received the latest package in early March. Six days ago I found all the backup copies and organized them. No progress since then. It’s the action climax, so I’m dreading it more than usual. (I dread all chapters more than usual. Each one has something unique.)

Does anyone have a different interpretation of this one? How do you plan to do it? Do you see any obstacles?

Answer here, or in your own blog and enter a link in the comments.

Leave a Reply

