Weekly Virtue: Recap Tranquility, Prepare for Chastity

Tranquility

Be not disturbed at trifles, or at accidents common or unavoidable.

Pretty good this week. I messed up on bedtimes too often (and when I got to bed on time I woke at 4am and started thinking about the characters for a new novel). So, I’ve been too tired to get excited about anything. Less patience than usual, but the flare-ups die down very quickly. I just can’t sustain them.

I’ve been pretty good about not getting excited at online discussions. I commented less than usual. When I trust my judgment, I say all sorts of things, confident that I’ll phrase it well. When I don’t trust my judgment, I’m more cautious, and often say, “Why bother writing it if I’m not sure I should post it.” Very relaxing, to catch myself before I get caught up in something.

Next week, the virtue is Chastity.

Rarely use venery but for health or offspring, never to dulness.

Still gotta love Ben’s spelling. Any guesses how many search hits I’ll get for this entry?

Chastity is not abstinence. It just means following the rules of your culture and/or religion. Also, sex can be an important part of a healthy marriage.

This one’s gonna be easy.

Leave a Reply

