Knitting Helps the Brain

A recent (and long-overdue) change in the way knitting patterns are written is to assign letters to the stitch markers.

Stitch markers are rings that go around the needle, between two stitches, that help you keep track of columns.

Instead of writing, “Knit past three markers,” (and laughing as you lose count) they say, “Knit to marker D.”

This requires you to spend an extra $3 on markers with pretty beads with letters. Plus $10 shipping, but shipping is free if you buy $50. You can see where that is going.

I prefer to use loops of yarn as stitch markers. They don’t distort the knitting as much. I also prefer not to wait for stitch markers to arrive in the mail, or until I next visit the LYS.

So, I’m going to sit down with some yarn and make a bunch of loops.

Next question is how to label them. Small beads didn’t show up, and my daughter won’t let me use her big ones. (See earlier comment about not wanting to wait till I can get some of my own.)

Electricians have a colour code they use to label resistors. Dad can read them as fast as he can read English.

The code is described in detail here: http://wiki.xtronics.com/index.php/Resistor_Codes . Before visiting that site, check that you’re allowed. They say:

The following information may have errors; It is not permissible to be read by anyone who has ever met a lawyer. Use is confined to Engineers with more than 370 course hours of electronic engineering for theoretical studies.

So, I’m going to make loops out of coloured embroidery thread.

It will give me incentive to actually remember the resistor code. Yes, I’m more likely to get an office job than electronics assembly, so the standard colour code used in offices might be more useful, but I like the geek factor.

So, knitting officially improves my electronic skills.

Leave a Reply

