Weekly Virtue: Temperance

Temperance. Eat not to dullness; drink not to elevation.

Uh, yeah. Good thing I’m starting this today, not last week.

I’m officially past the “should lose 10 pounds” stage. All was well-enough when I walked 1km to the school, and back, twice a day, but that was several years ago. I’m trying a combination of Everyday System’s No S Diet, and a bit of calorie counting.The rules for the diet are:

There are just three rules and one exception:

  • No Snacks
  • No Sweets
  • No Seconds

Except (sometimes) on days that start with “S”

That’s it.

It’s easy, and in theory should work very well, I find, though, that without an awareness of calories, it’s easy to follow the rules and still gain wait. By knowing roughly how many calories are in something, I know where to put my effort. One small scoop of homefries, or let my MIL serve me (and convince me to take one more scoop so there are no leftovers)? Is it worth cutting that slice of birthday cake in half? Lemonade or tomato juice? One tbsp of mayonnaise added to egg salad almost doubles the calories.

I’ve tried it for a few weeks, but it’s been an erratic summer. I know I should pack a healthy snack for the drive, but when I know the family will stop at someplace yummy… I’m going to reboot it.

Also, I’m borderline hypoglycemic. That means if I don’t eat enough at one meal, I will need an unplanned snack, and my grumpiness level and lack of concentration don’t make it easy to pick something healthy. Hopefully, a daily routine, with this much housework and that much exercise, will help me fine-tune what I eat.

Leave a Reply

