Weekly Virtues: Review of Temperance, Prepare for Silence

Last week’s virtue was Temperance.

Temperance. Eat not to dullness; drink not to elevation.

I chose a narrow interpretation of this. Since I rarely drink alcohol, the virtue reduced to calories. I’m now 20 pounds over ideal, so need to get serious.

How I did well:

The scale says I lost three pounds, but I doubt it. I didn’t restrict myself enough to account for that much change, so it’s probably mostly water. Surely, though, at least one of them was real!

I took smaller portions of everything but vegetables, only had healthy snacks or small candies.

My energy level varied. I had difficulty being productive, but that might be due to other reasons.

I also gave in and bought some frozen diet meals. They were on sale. Fixed calorie count, easy to prepare, and something different. I try to avoid these, since they’re bad for the environment, but I had several emotional kicks last week, and count these as comfort food while I recover.

(One internet acquaintance passed away. She was my age. And my surgeon keeps giving me modern options to look into, none of which are guaranteed, when what I really want is to get the bleeping thing over with. While I wouldn’t trust a doctor who discuss the options with me, she knows more about the options, her own skills, and the local hospital than I do.)

How I Slipped:

Husband and I had a romantic day of running errands and going to the outlet store on Saturday. (Don’t laugh. After 22 years and 2 kids, a day like that is wonderful, especially now that the kids are old enough to like the same movies we do.) We stopped at a fast-food place for ice cream, and the small looked too small. Afterwards, I went to their website. It doesn’t list exactly what I had, but it’s probably between 570 to 830 calories. For comparison, I should eat between 1200 and 1600 per day.

I also ate thee goodies at a meeting. We only bring goodies to the general meetings, and I was working hard at the meeting. With three active guilds, mostly of women, that excuse is used often!

How it Helped:

With this as a focus, I made reasonable progress towards a mid-term goal. I’ve had difficulty staying focused on it in the past. Fingers crossed it becomes a habit.

What I Learned:

There are many things at that restaurant that I like just as much and have under 300 calories. Not as healthy as water, but only 150 calories more than I’d normally eat at that time of day.

I can definitely do this calorie-reduction thing.

Next week’s virtue is Silence. In Ben’s words,

Silence. Speak not but what may benefit others or yourself; avoid trifling conversation.

Not going to happen. I talk when under stress. I will, however, try to work on it. Less internet, more work. Fewer long comments. And remember: Is it True? Is it Helpful? Is it Necessary?

Leave a Reply

