Weekly Virtue: Review of Silence and Prepare for Order

Review of of Silence:

Silence. Speak not but what may benefit others or yourself; avoid trifling conversation.

Well, I deleted several comments before I sent them, and even skipped the last three revision passes before deleting them. I noted two times where, while I thought what I said was respectful and helpful, it might have been interpreted differently.

Next week is Order:

Order. Let all your things have their places; let each part of your business have its time.

Uh, have you seen my desk / office / file shelf / craft-pile? They’re slowly getting better again, after a season / year / several years / season of neglect?

I need to be stricter about putting things away. I have a bag for each group. Most things stay in the bag between meetings, but now that organizing is over, many of the things in those bags can be put away. Now that display and advertising season is over, I can put away my crafts and tools. All sorts of smallish things. I’m slowly working at my old files, purging and moving them to the new cabinet, and moving more-used things to the open shelves. Lots of awkward-sized holes during the process!

As for time? I think I have a doable plan for the next few weeks, so long as I don’t get side-tracked. I’ve slowed down or stopped several projects, so I can focus on and maybe finish a few. (I also put the equipment for those hibernating projects away!) Today, though, instead of working, I went to Knit Lit at the library, then helped a friend get her new iPad-mini online and linked to her old iTunes and Kindle accounts.

Letting each part of my business have its time is going to be a challenge.

Leave a Reply

