Weekly Virtue: Review Resolution, Prepare for Fugality

This week was Resolution, from Ben Franklin’s list.

Resolution. Resolve to perform what you ought; perform without fail what you resolve.

The week started well enough. Very well, actually. I only did some of what I’d planned, but my plans were too optimistic (seriously so), and made good choices overall. Sadly, it ended badly. As evidence, I present this day-late blog post. (Remember I do this Wednesday to Wednesday.)

I skipped my weekly and daily plans. Part of it may have been I’ve been keeping better records, and seeing all the things I plan that don’t get done makes me question why I bother to plan.

I know the answer to that already. Planning lets me see the ground ahead. It reminds me what is important. It tells me if I need to be careful about staying on track. It prepares me for the most likely dead ends. It helps me make informed decisions when I get off track. Continue on the new track, or go back to a modified version of the original plan. Notice the complete lack of “Planning is useless unless I follow the plan.”

A few minutes ago I was very discouraged. Then I rebooted. I did what I should have done this morning, and yesterday morning.Review the lists and make the first cut for tomorrow’s list. Actually crossed several things off the big list because I’d done them, and realized that one page from a meeting “filled with action items” had only four — two of which I’d done.

Not great, but reality was better than my memory. Having supper also helped.

Overall, though, I have to say that I made no progress with Resolution.

Next week is frugality.

Frugality. Make no expense but to do good to others or yourself; i.e., waste nothing.

Two weeks ago, terrible. Last week, not much better. Too many errands running too late, leading to too many meals out. (My scale agrees with that assessment.)

Next week looks like a good one for frugality. Only one morning appointment, and that ends well before lunch.

Leave a Reply

