Weekly Virtue: Review of Industry, Prepare for Sincerity

Last week was Industry.

Industry. Lose no time; be always employ’d in something useful; cut off all unnecessary actions.

To put it mildly, and looking only at a limited area, I rocked!

It’s wound down, now, but for a few weeks I was in an accountability group experiment. Three of us sent daily (or hourly or weekly, it was an experiment) reports. We each experimented with different report methods and frequencies. The only commitment was to support. Not even to read all the reports!

At first, my evening reports were pretty standard. More not done than done. Eye-opening!

Does improving your “percent completed” count, if you do it by reducing your goals? I think so. Rather than make a long list of little things and report mostly failure, I chose a few larger things I often put off, and dropped several of the little things entirely (for now, still hope to add them back later).

Last week, my accounting backlog was at May. (Bills are paid on time, but statements need reconciling and filing.) Yesterday I finished July. My other commitments are being met, including training assistants for a volunteer jobs. Both want to learn the technology. One will reach the “try Googling these words” stage next week. The other is already running with the section I gave her.

I started doing “just one more thing before reporting” so I could report success. It’s easier and more rewarding to report “all housework done for the week” than list bits done and not done.

I’ll need to be careful. Not too much in a batch. Take breaks.

The downside to this batching is that I don’t check the weekly list as often. Yesterday I planned to do fiddly desk things, which included this blog entry, but did more on the accounting backlog instead.

Another influence was Dr. Mel over on Psychowith6. She tests a different productivity hack each week, and recently did Do It Now. Taken too far, you tidy all your drawers now instead of cooking supper. With limits, though, I like it. Fifteen minutes every day wandering the house works wonders. (It’s also one of the things I cut, but want to restart.)

Do It Now is also a reward. If I’m on schedule with what needs to be done, I get to tackle things that annoy me! That’s much better than the (now burned) list of what to tackle when, and not being allowed to tackle what is annoying me in the moment. The list was freeing when I let DIT get out of control (you don’t have to do it now, it’s on the schedule), but I rarely got to things on the schedule.

(The other intent of Do It Now was tidying up after yourself immediately. I’m almost where I want to be with that.)


Next week is Sincerity. If I can fake that, I’ve got it made.

Only kidding.

Sincerity. Use no hurtful deceit; think innocently and justly, and, if you speak, speak accordingly.

I need to work, not on sincerity specifically, but on thinking first. Thinking long. Finding that space. Choosing to let things go. I don’t have to jump in and help immediately. Silence is okay. Sometimes when my kids annoy me, it’s because they’re working through their own problems, and me cracking down on them too hard doesn’t help them solve those problems.

Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom.
— Viktor E. Frankl

One Response

  1. I’m impressed by your efforts, Cricket. The regular accountability is intriguing, too. I know that one of the challenges for me is that I don’t have people here watching me — besides my husband and kids. When I have homeschooling friends here, we always get things done. Make a difference. Best wishes with sincerity — I mean it! 🙂 And thanks for the shout out.

Leave a Reply

